Let’s Get Scentual

The older I get, the important scent has become to my daily routine. It is such a personal and subtle way to leave an impression and make a memory.  In fact, most of my favorite moments are defined by smell rather than words.   About three years ago I fell in love with my first “signature fragrance.”  Stella by Stella McCartney will forever be my go-to. I am obsessed with the way that it makes rose smell sexy and not too grandmothery (no offense to all the G-Mas out there!).  From there I moved onto Jo Malone’s English Pear & Freesia perfume.  For me, it has become a daytime fragrance that is earthy and floral – which seems to be my scent of choice for perfume – and also light enough that it does not overpower when working in a full office (oh joy for open office spaces).  While these two scents will forever hold a place in my heart – and my nightstand – I recently had the biggest fragrance love affair of all time. While on vacation, I was talking to a friend of a friend when a whiff passed my way. The smell was so lovely and powerful that I immediately had to stop the conversation and ask this stranger what she was wearing. Less than 24 hours later I was running around the streets of Venice Beach during a monsoon trying to find the boutique of my fragrance dreams. Cut to 25 minutes later, and $90 dollars poorer, I had my small .25 fl rollerball of Le Labo’s Santal 33. I kid you not…this scent is a game. changer.  It smells like sandalwood wrapped in joy, sunshine, love and hugs.

I share this story because not only do I think that everyone should have a signature scent, but more importantly, there are some things in life that are worth the splurge. I know, I know….what am I talking about? Isn’t this a sale shopping blog? Why yes, it is…you are not lost (and please don’t leave!). We shop the bargains to have the splurges. For me, scent is that splurge. It makes whatever outfit I’m wearing feel red-carpet worthy and brings a confident smile to my face on days when I just don’t want to face the world. So go on and treat yourself this Valentine’s Day!

 

Scentual 28 Jan 2017 (1).png

Leave a Reply

